• Timetable
  • About
  • Contact
  • Blog
  • Challenge
  • Online Studio
  • Pricing
  • What are Chakras?

    Chakra is a Sanskrit word which translates to wheel. In yoga, this refers to the 7 main vortexes of energy/prana along the spine, starting from the base of the spine through to the crown of the head. If any or all of these centers are blocked, we can experience illness, emotional imbalance or fatigue. In order to restore balance in your chakras, figure out which chakra to stimulate to counteract the imbalance.

    Muladhara (Root) Chakra

    Colour: Red
    Element: Earth
    Positive expressions: Grounded, confident, sense of belonging
    Unbalanced expressions: Insecure, needy, self-destructive
    Poses: Tadasana, Dandasana, Virabhadrasana II

    Svadhisthana (Sacral) Chakra

    Colour: Orange
    Element: Water
    Positive expressions: Creative, positive, receptive to change
    Unbalanced expressions: Emotionally unstable, guilty, hard on yourself
    Poses: Malasana, Upavista Konasana, Gomukhasana

    Manipura (Navel) Chakra

    Colour: Yellow
    Element: Fire
    Positive expressions: Powerful, courageous, productive
    Unbalanced expressions: Anxious, stagnant, low self-esteem
    Poses: Ardha Matsyendrasana, Navasana, Dhanurasana

    Anahata (Heart) Chakra

    Colour: Green
    Element: Air
    Positive expressions: Unconditional love, compassion, forgiveness
    Unbalanced expressions: Possessive, codependent, fear of rejection
    Poses: Trikonasana, Urdva Danurasana, Ustrasana

    Visuddha (Throat) Chakra

    Colour: Light blue
    Element: Ether
    Positive expressions: Communicative, good listener, truthful
    Unbalanced expressions: Low will power, judgmental, overly critical
    Poses: Matsyasana, Halasana, Sarvangasana

    Ajna (Third Eye) Chakra

    Colour: Indigo
    Element: Light
    Positive expressions: Inner wisdom, intuition, isight
    Unbalanced expressions: Close-minded, lack of clarity, untrusting
    Poses: Balasana, Sukasana

    Sahasrara (Crown) Chakra

    Colour: Violet
    Element: Cosmic Energy
    Positive expressions: Illumination, wisdom, higher awareness
    Unbalanced expressions: Narrow mindedness, intellectualism, ego-centeredness
    Poses: Sirsasana, Savasana